SLGP Header

Voltage Regulation and Reactive Power Compensation Using SA Algorithm

IJEECC Front Page

Voltage regulation and reactive power compensation is one of the most challenging problem in the power systems. It may occur in transmission line of the power system. Due to that generation outages, sudden increase of load demand, or failure of equipment’s may happen, which will be rectified using Unified Power Flow Control (UPFC). In this project, minimize the optimization control by using Sinusoidal Pulse Width Modulation (SPWM), PI controller and Simulated Annealing (SA) technique is used to generate firing pulses for both the converters in UPFC. In this study simulations were performed on IEEE 14-bus. Results of simulations are encouraging and could efficiently be employed for power system operations.
Keywords:UPFC, SA, SPWM, Voltage Regulation, Reactive power compensation


  1. Ruiye Liu and Dianguo Xu, “The study of UPFC fuzzy control with adjustable factor” IEEE/PES Transmission and Distribution Conference,2005.
  2. F. Katiraei and M. Iravani, “Power management strategies for a microgrid with multiple distributed generation units,” Power Systems, IEEE Transactions on, vol. 21, no. 4, pp. 1821–1831, 2006.
  3. M. E. Baran and F. F. Wu, “Optimal sizing of capacitors placed on a radial distribution system,” IEEE Trans. Power Del., vol. 4, no. 1, pp. 735–743, Jan. 1989.
  4. K. Turitsyn, P. ˇ Sulc, S. Backhaus, and M. Chertkov, “Options for control of reactive power by distributed photovoltaic generators” Proc. IEEE, vol. 99, no. 6, pp. 1063–1073, Jun. 2011.
  5. Saverio Bolognani, Ruggero Carli, Guido Cavraro, and Sandro Zampieri, “Distributed reactive power feedback control for voltage regulation and loss minimization” IEEE Transactions on AutomaticControl10.1109/TAC.2014.2363931,2015.
  6. Amar Alsulami, Massimo Bongiorno, Kailash Srivastava and Muhammad Reza, “Balancing Asymmetrical Load Using a Static Var Compensator” 5th IEEE PES Innovative Smart Grid Technologies Europe (ISGT Europe), October 12-15, 2014.